I’ve been working on this floral for the past 2 – 3 months off and on and I finally finished it.  I planted this flower about 10 years ago and it bloomed only the first year and every spring after that I would see the foliage come up but no flowers.  I realized that I had planted it too deep which Irises don’t like too well, so every year I had full intentions of digging it up and replanting it but that never happened until this past spring.  Lo and behold in it’s new sunnier location and planted shallow, it bloomed so profusely that I wound up with about 10 flowers each measuring about 7″ in diameter.  What a beautiful show!  Well, we sold our house this past fall so I hope the new homeowners will appreciate my gardens.  I entitled this iris “Queen Midas” because of it’s showy display of golden color and it’s size.  Along with all my other florals, this piece will be available as greeting cards by the end of January at McNally Robinson Bookstore. Please check out my gallery to see some of my other works.

"Queen Midas"  Colored Pencil 8.5 x 11 on Stonehenge

“Queen Midas” Colored Pencil 8.5 x 11 on Stonehenge

Comments are closed.

