Back to normal whatever that is…

Well, the holidays are over and most of us are feeling somewhat better from all the flu that has been going around.  It’s my turn now I guess as I can’t seem to get warm.  Snuggled in my bed with a heater was my agenda for the day but it’s time to pack away all the Christmas decorations and take down the tree so I’m doing it in stages.  This time of year can be difficult as it’s hard to say so long to friends and family, some who’ve come a long distance to visit.  Having said that, it’s also nice to clean up and get back to normal, whatever that is.  For many, it’s going back to work on a regular basis, for lots of us it means getting on track again with our eating habits in the hopes of shedding those extra pounds, including the ones we gained before Christmas but we figured it was almost the holidays so no point in watching my weight now, I’ll just start fresh in the New Year.  Famous last words!  For others it means back to school and homework and exams.  For me personally, it means being able to focus more without having so many different things on my mind.  I find as I get older I really can’t multitask as well as I used to, which can be a good thing as it has forced me to let go of a lot stuff that I once felt I had to do.  So my plan right now is to get fitter and healthier and focus on my art and try to follow Abigail Van Buren’s suggestions below.

“JUST FOR TODAY, I will live through this day only. I will not brood about yesterday or obsess about tomorrow. I will not set far-reaching goals or try to overcome all of my problems at once.

I know that I can do something for 24 hours that would overwhelm me if I had to keep it up for a lifetime.

JUST FOR TODAY, I will be happy. I will not dwell on thoughts that depress me. If my mind fills with clouds, I will chase them away and fill it with sunshine.

JUST FOR TODAY, I will accept what is. I will face reality. I will correct those things that I can correct and accept those I cannot.

JUST FOR TODAY, I will improve my mind. I will read something that requires effort, thought and concentration. I will not be a mental loafer.

JUST FOR TODAY, I will make a conscious effort to be agreeable. I will be kind and courteous to those who cross my path, and I’ll not speak ill of others. I will improve my appearance, speak softly, and not interrupt when someone else is talking. Just for today, I will refrain from improving anybody but myself.

JUST FOR TODAY, I will do something positive to improve my health. If I’m a smoker, I’ll quit. If I’m overweight, I will eat healthfully — if only for today. And not only that, I will get off the couch and take a brisk walk, even if it’s only around the block.

JUST FOR TODAY, I will gather the courage to do what is right and take the responsibility for my own actions.”
Abigail Van Buren

DSC_3728_1773

Comments are closed.

