Jamaican Artist Portrait

When I was in Jamaica in December, I was on the lookout for some good character studies.  This particular gentleman was sitting by the road with paintbrush in hand, painting some local ideas onto coconuts to sell.  I loved his dreads and his deep yellow ideas so I asked him if I could take his picture and that as I was an artist as well, I’d like to do his portrait.  He agreed, only my camera was giving me grief and I wasn’t able to take the time to set it up properly and the resulting picture was not very clear.  So here I am trying to make it up as I go along.  Just got started this morning and I’ll post as I go.  I really thought I could posts some notes as well but I’m finding again that I just pick and use colors as I go dropping in layers very lightly at first to determine if they’ll work.  I’ve gotten to know my polychromos pencils very intimately so I have a pretty good idea of what they’ll do for me as I progress.Jamaican Artist_1a_72

Comments are closed.

