“Carnival” cont’d…

Today I spent a good 5 hours working on “Carnival” and as a result I’ve come close to completing it.  I continued on with the last petal and needed a change so I decided to take a break and work on the pistils and stamens of the flower.  For the stamens I used mostly Derwent Colorsoft Light Green and Lime Green, adding in a bit of Prisma Powder blue for some very light shadows on the stamens themselves.  Where the stamens came in close contact with the petals I used the same greens to create some delicate cast shadows.  For the pistils, I filled in a portion of the light areas in the centers with Prisma Greyed Lavender and lightly added some Polychromos Indigo around the lavender as sort of a halo effect.  Then I used again very lightly a variety of Polychromos rust colored pencils, and some dark brown to fill in most of the balance of the pistil, with some Polychromos Naples yellow for the lightest areas.  Once I established where my lights and darks were I went in and darkened them all to my liking filling in all the white space.  Once this was done, I used the Prisma Greyed Lavender as as blender to create the soft effect in the center of the pistils.  Beyond that I’m half-done on the last petal and once that’s done I’ll let it sit for a few days to mull over what I might need to adjust and do that.  Then signature, seal it and I’m done.

Carnival_6

 

2 Comments on ““Carnival” cont’d…

  1. Hi Barb – thanks for stopping by and commenting. As to your question, signature is usually a personal choice. Since all my artwork is my own and original including the reference photos I use, I will always sign my work with my name. I usually will sign in the lower right-hand corner somewhere ensuring that it is in a place that will be seen and won’t be cut off by printing or framing. If you’re signing on a very dark area, then you may consider purchasing a pen or pens that write in light colors so it will show. I don’t put the date unless it’s a portrait of a family member. Sealing my work is another story as I’ve had a few bad experiences with using a spray either incorrectly or it was not the ideal one to use. I have learned my lesson though. High humidity is not ideal conditions to spray and always follow the manufacturer’s instructions. I use Krylon products, specifically their UV Archival Varnish but I often will spray a gloss fixative lightly first to set my colors and prevent varnish particulars from settling on the upper tooth of the paper. The gloss allows the varnish to dry evenly so it doesn’t refract light in a way that creates a cloudy appearance to the finished piece. It’s really important to spray lightly and at the recommended distance and allow your work to dry in between. Some sprays will alter colors as well especially some of the reds so always test your spray on a test piece first especially if your trying out a new product or brand as they are all different. One more thing, if your spray looks wet, then you’re spraying too heavy per coat – patience is the key. Hope that explains it for you.

    Terry

    Like

Leave a Reply

