My Grandaughter Grace…

So after completing “Carnival”, I decided it was time to get back on track with doing portraits of my grandchildren.  The ones I’ve done so far have been done over various ages.  This one is Grace, daughter to my son and his wife Shauna and sister to Liam, whose portrait I did when he was but a few weeks old.  Grace was hair challenged for quite some time and I really wanted to capture her once she had hair.  Well, that took some time but she will be three in April and she finally has some beautiful curls, kind of wild at times but curls nonetheless.  Mom manages to keep them under control with little pigtails.  She is a delightful little girl with a smile to melt an iceberg.  In spite of her warm, caramel skin tone, she has the rosiest cheeks and lips.  She’s going to be a heart breaker for sure.  Anyway, I got way ahead of myself while I was working on this one and forgot to stop and takes some pics along the way so this is the first one, along with the reference photo.  The photo was taken in bright sunlight so there is a lot of contrast and a wide array of values which I will adjust more as I go along as the left side of her face, looking at the image will need to be  darkened some more.

Grace Portrait Refe Photo

Grace_1

Leave a Reply

