Old Door….

Every day I try to put in a little time on this current piece.  Having recently purchased a floor-lamp style OttLite I can work almost anywhere and anytime.  With the full spectrum daylight bulb it allows me to work in the evenings or under poor lighting conditions.  Having said that there’s still nothing like a great big, north facing window to work by.  Anyway, I’ve been finding it to be a lot of fun to create the look of age and rust.  For the door plate, I began by taking a little time to identify all the nuances of color within the rusty area and I came up with quite a few.  My technique for doing this was to map in some of those colors randomly around the plate and gradually build them by scribbling, overlapping and eventually blend them all with a lighter yellow, gray or rust color so as to bring the colors together but still create the appearance of the many.  The colors I used were all the shades of grey both warm and cool, nougat, raw umber, burnt sienna, burnt umber, van dyke brown, burnt ochre and sanguine (all Faber Castel Polychromos).  Where I needed some areas darker I used dark sepia and the lightest areas I used light yellow ochre and Naples yellow as well as the white of the paper in a few spots.  It’s also important to take careful notice of all the tiny shapes and highlight areas of your reference photo to create the realism.  Soft subtle highlights are harder to see in your mind that bold, bright highlights but they’re there and you need to include them.  This is a really good practice for creating soft areas that encompass hints of many colors.  If you take a piece of practice paper, pick out 5 or 6 colors you might see together, say in the water or grass or sky and begin by scribbling the various colors on your paper and slowly try to marry them all up to create an esthetically harmonized blend that has no beginning and no end and yet each color can be picked out.

Old Door 2

 

4 Comments on “Old Door….

  1. Very lovely work. I love Polychromos too, but I’m just learning and sketching at this point. Would love to be able to do something like this.

    Like

  2. Thank you for commenting. I just took a gander at your site and found it to be delightful. I like your idea to use the alphabet to draw something everyday and Keith Urban’s sketch is looking fine as I recognized him right away – please continue it. I may just try that sometime. Anyway, I wanted to say that your sketches are where it all begins – don’t stop and each day try to improve on just one thing. Using good products are the best way to start and Polychromos are the best in my opinion and I have tried many brands. If you ever need some help feel free to comment and please feel free to share my site.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for that very kind offer and the praise too. I’m so glad you enjoyed my site. When I started, I never thought anyone would care, but it’s been a cool journey (and have only been doing it a month so far, so who knows where it goes from here?). I love Polys so much; I feel that they make everything I draw look better than say how they would look with graphite, or even most other CPs I’ve tried as well. Your work is lovely and I’m glad to have found you. I look forward to your updates! I am so happy to be part of the art community here on WordPress; I finally feel that I have come home, in many respects. Again, thank you for your kindness. It’s much appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

