Threesome…..

No, this isn’t an X-rated tutorial!  My threesome are three beautiful horses whose photo I took while my daughter and I took her two boys out horseback riding.  These three beauties just happened to pose nicely for me and I loved the composition.  I’ve decided to really do something different this time as I normally don’t work on anything larger than 9 x 12 but this piece deserved more space, so I am working on a 16 x 20 sheet of illustration board by Canson.  I didn’t want to do a grid on this board so I opted to print my final reference image onto four 8.5 x 11 sheets of paper and then taped them together and using graphite paper, I transferred the image.  It may be hard to see here but it’s there.  This one is going to take a while so I hope you’ll keep tuning in to see the progress and follow along.

Pencils I’m using so far are:

FC Polychromos

White, Ivory, Cream, Warm Greys I – VI, Cold Greys I – VI, Indian Red, Middle Cad Red, Caput Mortum, Venetian Red, Burnt Ochre, Terracotta,Burnt Sienna, Walnut Brown, & Dark Sepia

Prismacolors

Putty Beige, French Grey 50%, Peach Beige, Beige Sienna, Jasmine, Sand, Mineral Orange, Goldenrod, Chesnut, Sienna Brown,  Dark Brown, Black Raspberry, Tuscan Red and Slate Grey

Threesome72

 

Threesome-1

Leave a Reply

