Competition Win – 4th place!!!!

Today is a very special day for me as I just received notification that my piece “Shasta Daisy” won fourth place in the “Botanical” competition for the Contemporary Art Gallery Online.  This is a great milestone for me as I have been doing my art for a number of years now and of course we artists tend to be our worst critics, so I’ve always been reluctant to enter competitions.   I made a decision to do just that in 2015 and lo and behold, my first entry and first win.    Thank you to everyone for your support and encouragement especially my biggest fan Chris. Here is the piece that won.

 

"Shasta Daisy" 8.5 x 11 Colored Pencil on Bristol Vellum

“Shasta Daisy” 8.5 x 11 Colored Pencil on Bristol Vellum

6 Comments on “Competition Win – 4th place!!!!

  1. Congratulations – it must feel wonderful to have your work acknowledged… just beautiful… you inspire me to try and bring my work to the next level…

    Like

  2. Thanks Don. I truly appreciate you taking the time to stop and comment. The “like” society we live in today doesn’t really leave room for good old-fashioned communication and I’m old school so I really appreciate it as well as the words. As to your work, never stop if you love what you’re doing and always strive for that next level.

    Like

  3. Congratulations and very, very well deserved Terry, all your work is beautiful and I’m so surprised you haven’t entered your pieces before this. There are many of your wonderful drawings I believe would have gained prizes long ago.

    Like

  4. I am surprised with the level of work you do you would be reluctant to enter a competition. I am not surprised you won though, very nice. Now go enter some more!

    Like

  5. Thanks Brenda. I really appreciate your comments. As I mentioned, I am my worst critic and my upbringing was such that no matter what I did, it was never quite good enough. I’ve learned that there is always room for improvement but I have also come to believe in myself and what I can do. My husband is the one who has really fostered that belief and he enabled me to start up my art again after many absent years and even said “Go ahead – retire and do your art, it’s what you love and what you’re good at”. So here I am today pursuing a life-long goal and folks like you have been a great encouragement to me sp thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Like

  6. Thank you Nancy. Sometimes it just takes that first step I guess and I very happy I made this one. Entering comps is one way to get your name out there for sure but I’ve always just kind of done my thing and never thought much about it. The other thing is that some comps require the actual piece in their hands which can be very expensive in terms of shipping costs so that has been one drawback. However I will be entering more now and as it turns out I have one in August. So wish me luck!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

