Threesome cont’d…

I have put in 3-4 hours per day so far and although it is slow, I really feel that it’s going well.  I’m constantly looking for shapes and measuring where they are in relation to some fixed aspects and then lightly color mapping those shapes with a base color that I want to show through such as FC Terracotta for some light areas and FC Dark Sepia and Caput Mortum Violet for some darks.  Then I build in those areas.  As I partially develop one area, I will move to another  rather than stay in one spot.  This helps me to ensure I keep my values in conjunction with the neighboring areas.  The  mouth area is very tricky as well as the variations of muscles and veins so prevalent on horses.  Right now I’m back to the  eye area slowly building the shapes and colors.  There will be a lot of minute tweaking all over of highlights and tiny hairs once the majority is done and  I haven’t decided entirely what I want to do with the background as yet as I want it to be subtle.  I’ve already sketched in some paddock rails but beyond that – sky?? – maybe an overcast sky so as not to compete with the main subjects.  I’ll cross that bridge when I get there although I do want to say that leaving a background till the last with no plan for it in place is not a good idea.  Your backgrounds, even if they are the white or color of the paper should be pre-planned so they don’t look like an afterthought.  They are as important as your main subject in relation to the whole piece.  I cropped just for the head I’m currently working on.

Threesome-4

 

 

Leave a Reply

