Threesome cont’d…..

Starting working on the 3rd horse for a change of pace.  This one is quite challenging as it has all those tiny little shadows and spots around the mouth and the eye but it’s coming along.  Just takes time.  It’s all those little details that require patience and time to make it look realistic.  Again using the same combination of colors mentioned previously adjusting the touch, and the order of colors that work for a given area.  Fortunately all three horses have similar color combinations.  I’ve also been working with my color chips to determine what I might apply for the background and I’ve pulled out either a combination of soft blue greys for the sky area or shades of cool greens in a diffused pattern to make all the background recede and represent trees in perspective.  The corral will be done with warm grey in various shades to represent a sun-faded fence.  Just for your info I picked up paint chips from our local hardware/paint dealer a few years ago and I use these to pick from when I’m unsure what colors I want in my background using the principle of having cool shades to recede and warms to come forward.  This way I can determine if a particular color(s) will look good or will it take away from my focal point or main subject.

Threesome-9

Leave a Reply

