It’s official!

I just received notice that I am now an official member of the Manitoba Society of Artists.  My schedule is busy but I’m loving it.  Having a commitment to various art groups keeps me fresh on what’s going on in the art world, builds new relationships and provides an opportunity for learning you just can’t get anywhere else.  Currently I am a member of the Assiniboine Group of Artists Cooperative here in Manitoba, Colored Pencil Society of America, Forum Art Centre Group, Charleswood Art Group and now the Manitoba Society of Artists.  Almost all the groups are juried memberships so I consider myself very fortunate to be accepted into these circles of talented artists and friends.

One Comment on “It’s official!

  1. Terry – first of all congratulations on being asked to be a member of the Manitoba Society of Artists… as a subscriber to your Posts and a admire of your artistry I am not surprised that such requests and accolades come your way.
    Terry, I am in the early stages of trying to incorporate the media of coloured pencil into my skill sets (I mainly dabble in graphite pencil, some ink work (stipple), a little watercolour, and a touch of acrylic. I am self learning and always on a search for tools, resources (cost effective) and learning opportunities that will help me in this journey. I have utilized a lot of the Five Pencil method philosophies / techniques and when I can, I have purchase a few of Darrel’s resources…
    However, I really would like to focus on Coloured Pencil and develop my skill set to the point where I can produce drawings and pieces of art that individuals would considering purchasing or seeking me out for commissioned work… I am a long way from this goal as I am at the beginning stages of this journey…
    The reason for this note (other than passing on a well earned congratulations) is to seek your opinion on other potential resources out there that will help me in my self-taught journey… I am now semi-retired thus have limited surplus resources (i.e. I would love to go to ART school or apprentice with an artist), but given my realities I try and utilize cypher space (web) to find hints, techniques, tools (identify good tools -pencils -papers etc.) that helps guide me and inspires me to strive to improve my budding talents (I follow your work as I find inspiration and a base line on what one can achieve using this understated media). In your email update you mention groups you belonged to (The Assiniboine Group of Artists Cooperative here in Manitoba, Colored Pencil Society of America, Forum Art Centre Group, Charleswood Art Group and now the Manitoba Society of Artists) many which i am sure are very selective and/or seek accomplished artists. But I thought I ask you if you could recommend web resources, that you have found helpful in your journey (To be frank more than not my searches have ended up with little teases of content then require payments beyond what I have available or can afford).
    In closing – thank you for taking the time to read this lengthy reply and considering my request – I can only imagine the number of requests you must get and understand if you are unable to respond.
    Peace
    Don Lawson
    guitardad22@yahoo.ca

    Like

Leave a Reply

