Back in 2015…..

It’s a brand new year and how time has flown.  I’ve decided that this will be a year of intense focus on my art.  Last year I found that I got very distracted with one thing or another, so I’ve made a plan and it starts now.

Some of the highlights of the past year included acceptance into the Manitoba Society of Artists and receiving of the W. Cliff Packer award for my piece entitled “Jamaican” in the annual Manitoba Society of Artists Juried Exhibition.  It was an honor to even have my work juried in not to mention receiving an award.

Jamaican_Final2_edited-1

In addition I won a 2nd for “Sheba”and 4th place for “Shasta Daisy” in two separate contests with the Contemporary Art Gallery Online and as a result was interviewed about my work http://www.contemporaryartgalleryonline.com/Terry_Mellway_s/2379.htm.

"Sheba" Colored Pencil 8.5 x 11 on Stonehenge

2nd Place “Sheba” Colored Pencil 8.5 x 11 on Stonehenge

4th Place Winner in the International Contemporary Art Competition - "Shasta Daisy" 8.5 x 11 Colored Pencil on Bristol Vellum

4th Place  “Shasta Daisy” 8.5 x 11 Colored Pencil on Bristol Vellum

I discovered a lot about myself with regard to my art this past year as I began to work in other mediums beside colored pencils and I have found that while not as easy to accomplish in our apartment but rather in rented studio space, that I was able to work on some very large pieces in both acrylic and oils which I found very enjoyable.

I joined the Charleswood Art and spent a fair amount of time working with fellow artists as opposed to holing up in my studio by myself and I really enjoyed the camaraderie and sharing of ideas and techniques.  I’ve met some wonderful and talented folks whose love of art is shared with mine.  In addition, I created a website for the Charleswood Art Group, which although it has not been published yet was both a challenge and an opportunity for me to get to know many of our members on a closer level.  I expect to publish in the next few weeks. I

Another short but fun project in 2015 was collaborating with other artists from all over the country by creating one piece of an 18-piece work entitled “Playing Cards” sponsored by Colored Pencil Magazine http://coloredpencilmag.com/.  Each individual was given a section of a larger image and a time frame in which to complete it in colored pencil.  Once complete, the images were submitted where their media department combined all the pieces to create one large and very impressive piece.

Collaboration

 

All-in-all, I would have to say that 2015 was a good year and a precursor to an even better one.  I would like to wish all of my followers, my mentors and friends who have supported me in my work, including the members of the groups I am part of and the staff at Colored Pencil Magazine a very Happy and Prosperous New Year in 2016.

 

Creativity Quotes - Quotes That Inspire Artists

2 Comments on “Back in 2015…..

  1. Terry, Your work is amazing and so life-like! I cannot imagine the hours you spend creating with coloured pencils, although I’m sure the pencils are of a far superior quality to the Laurentian pencil crayons of our youth.

    Happy new year and best wishes for 2016!
    Charray

    Like

  2. Hey Charray – how’s it going? Happy to hear from you and I hope all is well. Thanks for the praise. I’m really enjoying my artistic journeysince I retired. Right now aside from my CP work I’m spending a lot of time in studio doing oils and acrylics and quite liking the challenge. Hope the New Year is good to you and keep in touch!

    Terry

    Like

Leave a Reply

