A little bit of watercolor work….

On a number of occasions I’ve read where artists have reached a mental block about what to paint.  I’ve never understood this as there is so much around us to paint and I for one have thousands of reference photos I’ve taken over the years to glean inspiration and subject matter from.  Having said that, I too succumbed to the state of being mentally blocked and uninspired with regard to my next piece.  I think I attributed this partly to the fact that I am an accomplished color pencil artist and I’m totally comfortable with any subject matter in this medium but I wanted to focus on expanding this year and doing some work in oils, acrylics and watercolor, all of which I’m not as comfortable with.  End result is I’ve been struggling because I’m not getting the results I’ve wanted and therefore feeling quite uninspired.  The good news is that I’ve been working on some watercolors based on the techniques used by Susan Harrison-Tustain’s in her videos and books and I think that after all these years the “proverbial” light went on.  Her work is spectacular, her videos are absolutely awesome and although we haven’t met in person as she is from New Zealand, I feel as though we’re old friends through our online communications.  Feeling much more confident, I’m seeing my reference photos in a different light and I’m inspired and challenged to move forward, so thank you Susan!  Here’s a piece although not complete yet, I’ve been working on for the last couple of days and I think it’s coming along nicely.  The reference photo is from one I received from Billy Showell from the UK.  Her work as well, is outstanding and very unique.

Birthday Rose_72

Leave a Reply

