Mardi Gras Series – Masquerade 1…

I’ve always had a fascination for Mardi Gras and all the beautiful costumes.  When I visited New Orleans some years ago,  I went to as many displays as I could of costumes over the years.  They were spectacular!  As we all know New Orleans is famous for Mardi Gras and the historic evidence is everywhere in the city. Here’s an image of a Renaissance Lord and Lady – gorgeous!!

r2enaissance-lord-and-lady-costumes.jpeg

Ever wonder how the official Mardi Gras colors – purple, green and gold – were chosen?

The official Mardi Gras colors were chosen in 1872 to honor the visiting Russian Grand Duke Alexis Alexis Alexandrovich Romanoff, whose house colors were purple, greenand gold. The 1892 Parade theme “Symbolism of Colors” affirmed the colors’ meaning.

Purple Represents Justice. Green Represents Faith. Gold Represents Power.

Since that time the colors have exploded, taking in all the colors of the rainbow.

My next project is centered around this theme.  I want to do a series of mask depictions which are my own creations so I’m not working from any reference photos.  To do this, I decided to create two templates, one of a beautiful face and one of a basic mask.  I’m doing templates so that I don’t have to spend the time drawing these aspects for every piece I’m doing.  Once I have the face and mask transferred to my work surface, I can then get really creative!  I went to a fabric store to look at all the fancy trims and laces for ideas and then to a craft store to see some pretty fake gemstones and feathers.  Once I had some ideas in my head I began putting down some interpretations for the finished mask.  Once I’m happy with my design, I’ll transfer the line drawing to the mask below. I won’t spoil the unveiling but let you view the piece as it develops and once it’s done I’ll do it all over again with some totally different ideas!

Here’s the start of Masquerade 1 in my Mardi Gras series.

masquerade1_1

 

Leave a Reply

