Tulip Trio….

Taking a break from the Masquerade theme and working on a few smaller pieces.  This one, Tulip Trio, is an 8 x 10 on black Artagain paper.  I’d forgotten why I haven’t used this paper in a while as there isn’t much tooth to it, so it’s very difficult to get a bright white base.  However, I really love the subtle texture that it provides.  Using white transfer paper I got my subject down and worked on the one flower today.  Black paper can be very challenging as you have to get your brain thinking almost in reverse and then building up your values with white or cream first, leaving the black of the paper for the darkest values.  Believe it or not, I’ve used a total of 22 colors already!!Tulip Trio_1

Leave a Reply

